Disclaimer

I notice that the ads, like some kind of aggressive invading force, have found my websites. I wonder, idly, whether or not there might be any point in moving the whole shebang since other than paying for the privilege of ad-freedom, I can only imagine the situation is going to get worse. Make no mistake: I do not judge Russian Girls for attempting to find Dates, or Mates, even, particuarly if their lives hold little hope for them as things stand. I’m also guilty of having clicked on a potential Amazon Affiliates programme. I’m a pragmatist when it comes to Amazon: I don’t like the model in principle, because it carries all the hallmarks of any organisation that swallows all its smaller potential rivals and closes down interesting little bookshops. Then it fronts the popular, the cheerful, the bright and the branded and allows the niche market, the poets and philosophers (yes, Hello), to wither. Or perhaps it was ever thus. Anyhow, I will not be signing as an affiliate yet. It is part of the condition of being overly thoughtful (a characteristic that combines ill with my other vulnerability – a lack of self-respect) that potential opportunities are prodded and poked and scoured for association with greed, pollution, slavery, explicit cruelty to animals, destruction of fragile habitats , and the like. Unfortunately, that doesn’t leave much for my ilk to be going along with. Luck has kept me afloat so far but I’m reasonably atraid. After all, even Peter Singer, a huge influence on my undergraduate thinking, has admitted that he does not live as frugally as his philosophy advises. I’m no ideologue, but walking the tightrope between despair and destitution is challenging, particularly when you have involuntary accomplices, dependents who did not have a say in living like this and don’t have any qualms about eating a Big Mac or subscribing to X-Box live. Ah, well. Sun’s out. Must run.

2 thoughts on “Disclaimer

  1. Don’t be too hard on Amazon. They allow individual authors to sell books directly, cutting out the publisher. Given the rise of ebooks its not feasible for authors with no backing to sell their work which has to be good. In the “old days” the major publishers acted almost as censors, deciding what the public wanted to read. Anyway just my thoughts!

    1. Thanks, Nick. Good point and not something I’d thought about. My comments were based largely on the experiences of friends who’d tried to run bookshops on a more traditional model but found themselves squeezed out by Amazon’s aggressive policies and pricing. I do think that there’s still a place for the traditional author and bookshop, and that the physical book, printed on paper, will endure – but that it’s becoming more of a niche market. I also know that I do an enormous amount of reading of books and papers online for the simple fact that cost pushes me in that direction and that the availability and access to materials that the web gives is staggering, compared to having rely on whatever material was at hand (particularly limited for us rural dwellers) even if you have to be a bit more discerning about quality – and that I buy more books from Amazon than anywhere else at the moment… please feel free to comment on anything else in here and thanks for reading – and thinking!

Leave a Reply

